PDA

View Full Version : Mouse over pull down menu



prakash
07-13-2004, 04:18 AM
I am searching such templet like mouse over pull down menu. Any body have mouse over pull down menu? is there such templets? where can I download it?

erenger
07-13-2004, 07:36 AM
Something like this?

http://www.smeelen.net

Let me know, I can send you the code.

Eduard

prakash
07-14-2004, 11:35 PM
My interested in mouse over drop down menu is not like your buddy link. Like pull down menu when mouse over on main manu.

erenger
07-15-2004, 12:06 AM
Yeah when I saw the other post I figured you probably wanted a horizontal menu, with dropdown links.

Cheers,
Eduard

prakash
07-15-2004, 02:31 AM
I need a horizontal mouse over pulldown menu. could u please send me scripts?

rubdub
07-15-2004, 04:39 AM
Hi Erenger
I'd love the code for the menu you use on your www.smeelen.net site.
Rob

frobn
07-15-2004, 09:46 AM
A while back I posted a css dropdown menu. It uses much less code than a js menu and is much faster. The original post and updated download file is here:


http://www.open-realty.org/support/showthread.php?p=9184#post9184

prakash
07-16-2004, 04:45 AM
Hello you linked www.smeelen.net is not open. I would like to see the drop down menu.

erenger
07-16-2004, 07:16 AM
Hi,

the site works fine at this end of the world. Not sure about your end of course.
But I thought you had already seen it and decided you didn't want this type of menu. Or am I wrong?

Eduard

prakash
07-16-2004, 07:26 AM
Thanks for your helping mouse over pull down menu. But it is difficult to place on my user_top.html. May I get some hints about placeing in user_top.html?

prakash
07-17-2004, 01:57 AM
do u have vertical mouse over pull down menu?

taaron
07-25-2004, 07:59 AM
I am searching such templet like mouse over pull down menu. Any body have mouse over pull down menu? is there such templets? where can I download it?

I think I may be able to help you with this:

Of course you will need to change the links to suit your needs..... You can also add more and take them away... pretty neet script....

________________________________________________
menu.php____________
<html>

<head>
<title>Menu page</title>

<style type="text/css">
.menutitle{
cursor:pointer;
margin-bottom: 5px;
background-color:#ECECFF;
color:#000000;
width:140px;
padding:2px;
text-align:center;
font-weight:bold;
/*/*/border:1px solid #000000;/* */
}

.submenu{
margin-bottom: 0.5em;
}
</style>

<script type="text/javascript">

if (document.getElementById){ //DynamicDrive.com change
document.write('<style type="text/css">\n')
document.write('.submenu{display: none;}\n')
document.write('</style>\n')
}

function SwitchMenu(obj){
if(document.getElementById){
var el = document.getElementById(obj);
var ar = document.getElementById("masterdiv").getElementsByTagName("span"); //DynamicDrive.com change
if(el.style.display != "block"){ //DynamicDrive.com change
for (var i=0; i<ar.length; i++){
if (ar[i].className=="submenu") //DynamicDrive.com change
ar[i].style.display = "none";
}
el.style.display = "block";
}else{
el.style.display = "none";
}
}
}

</script>
</head>

<body>
<!-- Keep all menus within masterdiv-->
<div id="masterdiv">

<div class="menutitle" onclick="SwitchMenu('sub1')" style="width: 160; height: 20">
Our Links</div>
<span class="submenu" id="sub1">
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/index.php">Home Page</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/view_users.php">Our Agents</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/aboutus.php">About Us</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/contactus.php">Contact Us</a>
</span>

<div class="menutitle" onclick="SwitchMenu('sub2')" style="width: 160; height: 20">Search
Property Links</div>
<span class="submenu" id="sub2">
- <a href="/realty/listingsearch.php">Search All Listings</a><br>
- <a href="/realty/rentalsearch.php">Search For Rentals</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/listing_browse.php?type[]=Land">Search For Land</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/listing_browse.php?type[]=Home">Search for Homes</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/listing_browse.php?type[]=Farms">Search For Farms</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/listing_browse.php?type[]=Commercial">Search For
Commercial</a></span>

<div class="menutitle" onclick="SwitchMenu('sub3')" style="width: 160; height: 20">
Buy A House</div>
<span class="submenu" id="sub3">
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/members/member_signup.php">Home Buyers Sign Up</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/members/listfavorites.php">List Your Favorites</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/members/listsavedsearches.php">List Your Saved Searches</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/members/logout.php">Log Out</a></span><div class="menutitle" onclick="SwitchMenu('sub4')" style="width: 160; height: 20">
Sell A House</div>
<span class="submenu" id="sub4">
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/admin/agent_signup.php">Sellers Sign Up</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/admin/index.php">Sellers Sign In</a><br>
- <a href="http://csmofky.com/realty/admin/logout.php">Log Out</a></span><br>
</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>

</body>

</html>
_______________________________________________-


Hope this helps.....

Dan Specht
08-29-2004, 01:23 AM
Wow, that is some cool code. Thanks, I dont know if I will use it with OR, but im sure I will put it somewhere.

janc
08-29-2004, 03:59 AM
or maybe is this what your looking for?
www.jurimmo.be

WayneO
11-25-2004, 12:10 AM
or maybe is this what your looking for?
www.jurimmo.be

I really liked this, the layout is just the kind of thing I am hoping to achieve, and I particularly like the map locator at the bottom of the page. Trouble is that I am new to OR, new to php, complete novice at CSS (no understanding at all there) and after poring over post after post on the forums, I still have absolutely NO IDEA how to change the layout of the front page to suit my needs. What am I missing here? Can anyone provide some basic instruction on where to start, I can see from the myriad of examples that OR can be modified to do almost anything it seems, but most of the answers seem to be either unspoken or assumed, or complete greek.
I would just take the approach of trial and error, but the trouble is thats just a can of worms, and I end up frustrating myself, and creating lots of other errors elsewhere whenever I do approach it like this. There has to be a better way!
What I need to know is this;
Where do I start to alter layouts?
Which bits of code apply to which parts of pages?
Are there any instructions anywhere to help me so I can educate myself quietly and quit wasting other's time with probably ridiculous and definitely newbie questions?
Code is just that to me- a code (to which I do not have the key)
Help, please? I'm sure all these questions have been asked in the past, but I'm blowed if I can find them.....
:confused:

marb
11-25-2004, 04:09 AM
WayneO wrote;

Where do I start to alter layouts?
If you install OR you can select in common.php a layout that come with the script. In this forum you can select one of the (premade)templates if you want.
To make/change the template (you select) to your needs you can start with user-top.html and bottom.html on the template dir under the the template you select.
If generic template is you choice go there.
Both html files you can edit to needs.
Also in that template dir is css file. With that file you can set all the fonts, fontcolors etc. for the complete page.



Which bits of code apply to which parts of pages?
The php files come up in between the usertop and userbottom html files and generate the working code for the page.
Some files are explane self where they are for; listingview.php show listings imageview.php show images of a/the given listing.

Most questions of editing etc. are answered on this forums.
If you have questions of something you can ask them here.
If you want a page ready to run for realty then take one of the premade templates. They are all good and ready for use.

Marten :)

WayneO
11-25-2004, 07:20 AM
I have tried using a number of different templates, but absolutely nowhere have I found comprehensive instructions on exactly how to utilise these templates, or make modifications to them. I appreciate completely the time you have taken to reply, but I again re-iterate with your reply as an example, you state that I can use a template, but you don't say how. And that is the problem that i have faced throughout this process. There are plenty of posts that say that I can do whatever i want to, yet none of them go into accurate detail as far as how to implement this.
I must sound like a moron, and believe me I am beginning to feel like one, but I have managed to figure out this entire process from "creating a development server" in the first place, right through installing PHP, MYSQL, GD, SMTP servers and every damn thing in between it seems in less that 6 months, and now I am at the stage where I have decided the OR is the right vehicle, but I can't seem to drive the damn thing. Or give it a paint job........
What I am looking for are clear-accurate, and made for moron(for arguments sake) instructions on exactly how to implement a template, or how to make very basic modifications (moving of vertical menu, or creation of horizontal menu for example, without screwing up the location of other elements on the page) Changing colours is not an issue, I can do that. Modifying forms, and mucking around with HTML is not an issue either. But when it comes to using a template for example, the front page will look fine, but nothing behind it will work, ie the admin part, the listings etc...
I have now been trying to do this(including scouring the forum, I think I have read just about every damn post) without satisfactory result, 4 hours an evening, sometimes more, for just about 2 months. I have tried using every piece of advice I have seen and almost all the templates, but they all give semi-successful results, and thats if I have been able to understand the instructions(or not). I have used my development server, and external hosting (several different hosting companies), and the PHP/MYSQL etc on all are working perfectly. The standard installation works perfectly, but the minute I try to alter the appearance, template or otherwise, SOMETHING (not always the same thing) will not work.
PLEASE.........I am missing something serious here in interpretation. Someone please PLEASE SPELL IT OUT FOR ME. How do I implement a template........
I am at the end of my patience with this. I love the idea of OR, but I need to be able to change the look of it somehow. I'm not a complete idiot, I'm just not a born programmer, and I need this to work out, fairly quickly now, and I'm sure someone out there understands the frustration that I am feeling.
Please in moronspeak now

janc
11-25-2004, 12:27 PM
I am at the end of my patience with this. I love the idea of OR, but I need to be able to change the look of it somehow. I'm not a complete idiot, I'm just not a born programmer, and I need this to work out, fairly quickly now, and I'm sure someone out there understands the frustration that I am feeling.
Please in moronspeak now
I'm pleased that you like my template.
The template has nothing (or almost nothing) to do with OR, in fact you can create a template with dreamwaver mx,and when it's good enough you cut the source in two:a user_top.html (till the <body> tag plus <table>) and user_bottom.html (beginning with </table> becouse all OR pages are in a situated in a table.)
Replace the original user_top en user_bottom files so you can see what that gives.
PM me if you want to see my template files.
greetz

WayneO
11-25-2004, 10:51 PM
I would do that, but any of the User_top.html files that i look at also include a substantial amount of PHP in them, before you even get to the html part that you describe. So building a template in Dreamweaver still doesn't make any sense to me, because it wouldn't include the php that all the others seem to have. If it was as simple as making a front page with dreamweaver and cutting it in half, and placing the php in a table in the middle, I'm sure that i would have figured all that out by now. But it still doesn't make sense!