PDA

View Full Version : Feedback please...



keystrokes247
07-21-2004, 10:17 AM
I have been working on this site www.keystrokes247.co.uk/ashfield (http://www.keystrokes247.co.uk/ashfield) and would welcome any comments - good or bad please.

I have noticed upon wirting this that the menu table is a little too small and the footer font is rather large, both are controlled by CSS and will rectify this evening.

It is based on the Winds template, but I am having problems in getting the tables to centre on the page, if anyone has any suggestions that would be great.

It is a standard install plus the following mods/addons/bug fixes:

Multiple image upload
fix for duplicate username
Image resize
using british maps NOT Yahoo as in the standard install
Loan calculators
Reply form on the selected property that includes the listing number in the email to agent

Regards

Lloyd

brooksh
07-21-2004, 01:03 PM
Besides your template, I don't really see any difference between your page and the demo.

marb
07-21-2004, 02:47 PM
Your page look ferry nice.

to center the page change


<body>

<div align="left"></div>
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>
<table width="13%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" STYLE="background-image: url('http://www.keystrokes247.co.uk/ashfield/template/ashfield/images/top1bg.jpg');">
<tr>


to

<body>

<div align="center"></div>


of place a "<center>" tag just after "<body>" and </center> before </body>

You must edit/place the tags in user-top.html and user-bottom.html

Marten :)

RealEstate
07-21-2004, 02:58 PM
Hello Lloyd,

You seem to be one of the few that have solved the duplicate member problem.

On your page, when you submit a duplicate name you get a message telling you that the name is taken. There's also a "Go Back" link. When I click on that link i get an error.

I'm getting this:

"Sorry. but the request page /members/member_signup.php could not be found.

You need not do anything, this has been reported to us and we will look into it.

Refering URL: http://www.keystrokes247.co.uk/ashfield/members/member_form_submit.php

Server Name: www.keystrokes247.co.uk

Thank you for visiting Keystrokes Web Hosting Services."


RealEstate

keystrokes247
07-21-2004, 03:08 PM
Hello Lloyd,

You seem to be one of the few that have solved the duplicate member problem.

On your page, when you submit a duplicate name you get a message telling you that the name is taken. There's also a "Go Back" link. When I click on that link i get an error.

I'm getting this:

"Sorry. but the request page /members/member_signup.php could not be found.

You need not do anything, this has been reported to us and we will look into it.

Refering URL: http://www.keystrokes247.co.uk/ashfield/members/member_form_submit.php

Server Name: www.keystrokes247.co.uk

Thank you for visiting Keystrokes Web Hosting Services."


RealEstate

Many thanks for the feedback. I will have to fix this, it looks like it is pulling some kind of javascript that points to a non existent page, hence the 404 Error page appearing.

BTW the fix for the duplicate name was found in these forums, I will hunt it down and edit my post with the correct posting.

MARB, many thanks for the tip on centrering, I will give it a go over the next few days.

Thanks to all for yuor valueable feedback, once I go live I will naturally have to change the passwords ;)

frobn
07-22-2004, 07:24 AM
Some suggestions.

1. Your left column is too narror. Change the #navlist width in the CSS stylesheet to 170 px or more. You will then also need to enlarge your table width in user_top.html to accomondate it.

2. If the only css you are using from "Winds" is the navlist you should elimiate all the other CSS code in the style sheet as it can cause unpredicable results.

3. Eliminate the <html> and <body> tags surrounding your navigation menu.

4. Use the w3.org validators.

CSS vailidator: http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/

HTML validator: http://validator.w3.org/

keystrokes247
07-22-2004, 08:15 AM
I found the fix for the duplicate user name from this thread (http://www.open-realty.org/support/showthread.php?t=2944&highlight=exists)

I have not made any changes to the CSS menu width but is now rendering correctly which is strange as I thought I had got the width correct then at time of creating this post it was worng but is correct again, maybe some kind of refresh/cache etc.

I have fixed the missing page, it was because the member_signup.php was not taking into account that I have installed into a sub-directory, simply adding "/ashfield" to the redirection link worked. must rember to change this when I install live in the root directory.

Will have to try the rest of the suggestions in due course.

Many thanks again to all - this is one great script

ltp
07-23-2004, 06:24 AM
also to add on to frobn's... please test in multiple browsers like a browser with gecko... mozilla firebird is one. the page looks fine in IE but check it in a gecko based browser the page is jumbled like hell.

keystrokes247
07-23-2004, 06:50 AM
also to add on to frobn's... please test in multiple browsers like a browser with gecko... mozilla firebird is one. the page looks fine in IE but check it in a gecko based browser the page is jumbled like hell.

Oh right, many thanks, I have checked in Opera and Netscape but forget the others.

frobn
07-23-2004, 08:48 AM
The problems you are encountering with alignment are due to the table configurations you have. You are trying to line up 3 images into a table cell with a width of 13%. Tables in general are sloppy. IE is is also sloppy and will disregard the cell width but other browsers do not. Here is a suggestion for your header.

Combine the three images into one image . -- It is a fallacy that smaller images will load faster that the combined image.

Replace the top table you are using for the header with a div and include the header image as a background image.


<div style="align:left; width: 780px; height: 150px;
background: url('your_header.jpg') no-repeat; "></div>
note: width & height should be the width and height of your image.

The background image loads last so your page will load faster and you elimiate a sloppy table. You will also be able to write text over your image.

RealEstate
07-23-2004, 12:35 PM
Is there a quick way to browse your site with different browsers without having to download each browser and opening the page in each browser?
Maybe a free software?

Kind of like when you change your screen resolution from 800 x 600 in Windows.

RealEstate

RealEstate
07-23-2004, 12:46 PM
Found these links:

http://www.netmechanic.com/browser-photo/tour/BrowserList.htm

http://www.anybrowser.com/ScreenSizeTest.html

http://www.masternewmedia.org/2001/06/29/testing_your_web_page_across_different_web_browser s.htm

http://www.browsercam.com/Features.aspx


RealEstate