Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Someone stole my design

Angry Someone stole my design

I am working on a website at the moment (http://www.theolivepress.es/property) and while viewing our stats we noticed links from http://www.britishhomeloansflorida.c...erty/index.php. This is obviously a complete rip off of our site!

Has anyone else had this happen to them or can suggest what can be done to stop him using the design? I will be contacting the guy but thought i would post on here first to see what people think.

Dan

Default Re: Someone stole my design

Being a Web Site Developer I have seen and know a few Designers that use base templates as their basic design and sometimes they use them for more than 1 client with only slight differences when they are modified/customized for each client. That isn't really that uncommon for some Designers to do. I personally don't consider them Designers at that point. The fact that the other site isn't 100% identical such as using identical colors, images etc. it falls into a gray area. Personally both sites look like a stock base template was used to start with but then again that is just my opinion.
    If your site design was truly Designed just for you and a base template was not used, a signed statement from the Designer would help.
    The other question is who really owns the design. You, the Designer or where it was purchased. A good example would be Template Monster. They sell templates 2 ways: non exclusive (other people can buy the same design) and exclusive (the template is removed from their listings and not sold to other people). But there are 100's of template sites that only sell non exclusive base designs.

I would consider that site being in your stats very unusual since both sites are not showing the same Designer. What links are in your stats showing that site?
    Do the links point to content or files associated with the design?