Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    168

    Wink Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Hello,

    I'm working on multilanguage site - http://www.lomi.hr/ - Croatian, English, Deutsch versions.

    Thanks to Canarias Data and member's forum posts, I made the site multilanguage, but I have the last bigger problem - I don't know how to make OR to use different site titles and meta tags on different lang versions. (I know how to make that on sites with textual content (http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=...geID=5&lng=en), but I don't know how to make it on "search results" or "show listing" sites (http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=...ew&listingID=1)

    I found this topic - http://support.open-realty.org/showp...6&postcount=33, but I'm not sure if that's solution to my problem, I don't really understand it fully. Or is it about making "listing features" and similar data multilaguage?

    Can you help me?

    Regards from Croatia,
    NeoN

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    German, since 2000 in Spain
    Age
    50
    Posts
    826

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Hello NeoN,

    It is not possible to translate the title and the metatags using the method eduardo mentioned in his post. If you use the template changer method I helped you on, you could write the "global" keywords and titles directly in each of the different languages template files:

    like for german: <title>Immobilien kaufen in Kroatien - {site_title}</title>

    and only use {site_title} tag to display the rest, the generated title words.
    Same for the keywords.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    OK, thanks!
    Too bad it can't be done, but it's nice solution!
    Too bad it's can't be done at least with meta keywords and description.

    I'll try that when I wake up tommorow, I worked too long today on other OR site.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Sorry guys, but the solution is quite simple: lang tags

    At your main.html (and/or page#_main.html) files, replace:
    Code:
    <title>{site_title}</title> TO <title>{lang_site_title}</title>
    {load_meta_description} TO {lang_meta_description}
    And at your lang.inc.php files add:
    Code:
    $lang['site_title'] = 'SITE TITLE';
    $lang['meta_description'] = '<meta name="description" content="SITE DESCRIPTION" />';
    And it will work just fine...
    Eduardo.

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    German, since 2000 in Spain
    Age
    50
    Posts
    826

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Yes, right eduardo but like this Neon could write the title and the description directly in the template because it does not get generates depending on listing ID (listing title or any of the listing fields). I believe thats what NeoN actually wanted to be able to translate.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Quote Originally Posted by CanariasData View Post
    ...because it does not get generates depending on listing ID...
    I didn't read it at his post - anyway:
    Code:
    <title>
    <?php
    $listing_id = $_GET['listingID'];
    if ($listing_id == "1") {
    	echo "{lang_site_title1}";
    	} else {
    	echo "{lang_site_title2}";
    	}
    ?>
    </title>
    Works the same.
    Yeah! In fact there is no need to translate nothing...
    Eduardo.

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Quote Originally Posted by neon View Post
    ...but I don't know how to make it on "search results" or "show listing" sites...
    In fact this is the question!
    Neon, for example, create a page27_main.html and at the end of the links add: &PageID=27. For the "Search Rentals" would be:
    index.php?action=search_step_2&pclass[]=5&PageID=27

    At these pages... (page#_main.html) add different titles and meta tags.

    Eduardo.
    Last edited by ebmarques; 12-15-2006 at 12:36 PM. Reason: typo

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    I was away for the weekend, but I see that you guys were helpfull. Thank you both!

    Quote Originally Posted by ebmarques View Post
    In fact this is the question!
    Neon, for example, create a page27_main.html and at the end of the links add: &PageID=27. For the "Search Rentals" would be:
    index.php?action=search_step_2&pclass[]=5&PageID=27

    At these pages... (page#_main.html) add different titles and meta tags.

    Eduardo.
    I tried that, but it seems that it's not working or I'm doing something wrong:
    http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=..._step_2&pclass[]=1&PageID=3&lng=en

    Here is that class:
    http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?pclass%..._step_2&lng=en

    And let's say that this is a page which I want to use to display search results:
    http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=...ageID=3&lng=en

    Can you see what's wrong? Do I have to "prepare" that page which I want to use somehow? Does it have to be a empty page?

    Maybe this will be other way to do it:
    What about this (I'm not a programmer, so I hope you'll realize what I mean):
    Code:
    if url="http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=page_display&PageID=3&lng=en"
    then
    $lang['site_title'] = 'SITE TITLE1';
    $lang['meta_description'] = '<meta name="description" content="SITE DESCRIPTION1" />';
    else
    $lang['site_title'] = 'SITE TITLE2';
    $lang['meta_description'] = '<meta name="description" content="SITE DESCRIPTION2" />';
    On that site there will be only few pages...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Quote Originally Posted by neon View Post
    I tried that, but it seems that it's not working or I'm doing something wrong:
    http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=..._step_2&pclass[]=1&PageID=3&lng=en
    I just went to your site and there is NO page3_main.html file:
    http://www.lomi.hr/template/en/page3_main.html

    Did you created it?

    Eduardo.

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: Multilanguage site - problem with site title and meta tags on lang versions

    Quote Originally Posted by ebmarques View Post
    I just went to your site and there is NO page3_main.html file:
    http://www.lomi.hr/template/en/page3_main.html

    Did you created it?

    Eduardo.
    It seems I didn't understand you before correctly.
    I thought that you mean on site #x that I made with Page Editor.

    I made now site http://www.lomi.hr/template/en/page2_main.html

    But it doesn't work when I use url:
    Code:
    http://www.lomi.hr/index.php?action=page_display&search_step_2&pclass[]=1&PageID=2&lng=en
    It only displays page #2 that I made using Page Editor.

    What am I doing wrong?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •