Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: multilanguage version?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,883

    Default

    I think that a multilanguage version would be great.. someone planning on implementing?

    That would be the definitive feature to make this script the best one.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    Hi,

    This script has support for multilanguage. See the include/common.php file and the include/language directory. I know there are some thing that still need to be lang'ed better, if you want to help out with this that would be great.


    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////
    //LANGUAGE FILE PATH -- USED FOR MULTI-LANGUAGE SUPPORT
    include("$config[basepath]/include/language/english.php");

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,883

    Default

    hi,

    it's possible to make "mutilinguage" in the same time ?
    Leave the choice of some language.

    (one visitor in english, another in french, for example)

    Thank you

    Alain.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    Hi,

    Not at the present. This is actually something i was looking at some tonight, for a future release.. I will post some more here as soon as i have some sort of plan figured out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    Hi,

    Ok now that i have gotten a few hours of sleep, things are making some sense. We can come up with a way to allow people to switch template languages on the fly, the problem is the actual listing information is only being entered in one language, so you would really need multiple databases, and then make the script pull from a different database depending on which language you were using. If anyone has any suggestions on how to implement multilingual support so it works best let me know, i would appreciate some ideas on this. :?:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,883

    Default

    Not necessarily would need to be different databases. There could be language indetifiers on the fields of the database.

    example: description_eng description_ger description_spa

    an identifier for each field would do the trick to only display the proper language translation so when searching/browsing database would be the same database pulling common hidden fields and just the current selected language fields for display. The same for input forms. There could be the possibility to add a listing in different languages at the same time ( as display fields are different for each language).

    An example is this website http://www.inmoeasy.com/en/index.php...n&seccion= , who took John's Openrealty script as base and rewrote it for selling adding a lot of features. They only provide it as a hosted solution and don't want to share the code.

    A look it's worth to maybe grab ideas for new features/layouts. Those guys are getting success just ONLY for the on the fly multilanguage option.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,883

    Default

    The best way to make a php app multilingual is to use gettext. Gettext is included with php and simply needs to be compiled in. gettext is a method for making apps multilingual and takes 0 overhead and makes the code much easier to edit.

    check it out.
    http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.gettext.php

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,883

    Default

    you can take example of the project oscommerce.com that is multilingual.

    I'm going to try to do it.

    But what version can I adapt 1.07 ou beta 9 ???

    a french user

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Charleville / Australia
    Posts
    1,421

    Default

    If you are going to attempt anything i would sugest useing one of the current Beta versions. The main reason for this is that the code changes are rather large since 1.07 making the overall project almost rebuilt.

Similar Threads

  1. SAFE MODE restriction in version
    By skurj in forum HELP (CLOSED)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 09:46 PM
  2. version ?[SOLVED]
    By manix in forum HELP (CLOSED)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2004, 04:49 PM
  3. New Version of ADODB
    By max in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-19-2003, 02:58 PM
  4. What version should be used for my website?
    By ag in forum HELP (CLOSED)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2003, 08:37 AM
  5. Version 1.0.4a
    By greengiant in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2003, 07:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •