Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    86

    Default Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Ok when you use OR to create a new listing it first gives you the following multi-select box. EG:




    the problem is that a lot of potentual clients are not aware of [CTRL+CLICK] to select multiple classes.

    What i was trying to find out if there is a way of have tick boxes instead of the multi-select (scroll type box)??

    I was thinking of having them all appear on the same page with a tick box next to each class so they can clearly select each class, rather than scroll down which is awkward with a small box and large group of classes!

    once again any ideas
    --------------------------------------------------
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge."
    --------------------------------------------------

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Hi DJFlex

    1). Add some text to tempalte to advise the users to do the [CTRL+CLICK] to select multiple classes.
    / include / language / en / lang.inc.php

    and find this line and add the extra text
    $lang['admin_add_listing_select_property_class'] = 'Please select the property class you wish to add a listing to.';


    AdSpace

    Quote Originally Posted by DJFlex View Post
    Ok when you use OR to create a new listing it first gives you the following multi-select box. EG:




    the problem is that a lot of potentual clients are not aware of [CTRL+CLICK] to select multiple classes.

    What i was trying to find out if there is a way of have tick boxes instead of the multi-select (scroll type box)??

    I was thinking of having them all appear on the same page with a tick box next to each class so they can clearly select each class, rather than scroll down which is awkward with a small box and large group of classes!

    once again any ideas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Hey adspace,

    cheers for the suggestion, its a good idea but I really prefer to make it idiot proof as the small scroll box is difficult to tell which ones are highligted when you scroll.

    I prefer to have a tick boxes next to each option rather than the scroll.

    any other ideas
    --------------------------------------------------
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge."
    --------------------------------------------------

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Create an addon to replace the first step of the add listing function. Then change the add listing link to point to the addon instead of the default OR function.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Quote Originally Posted by pbflash View Post
    Create an addon to replace the first step of the add listing function. Then change the add listing link to point to the addon instead of the default OR function.
    Hey PBflash,

    I would love to create a addon. Have read the info on it but unfortantley im not that skilled in creating addons - I Can lift heavy things but (refer to avatar) - LOL

    If anyone would know how to create a addon please let me know

    regards
    --------------------------------------------------
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge."
    --------------------------------------------------

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    I would also like this function. I will make it a requested addon.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Ermmm Not sure how to make a request. Can someone add it.

    RE: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class.
    I think that this will help aid the users who are not used to ALT Clicking to select properties

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Quote Originally Posted by pbflash View Post
    Create an addon to replace the first step of the add listing function. Then change the add listing link to point to the addon instead of the default OR function.
    Would I need to modify core files in order to do this???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    German, since 2000 in Spain
    Age
    50
    Posts
    826

    Default Re: Tick boxes instead of scroll box for property class

    Yes this would require core file changes or as pbflash said one could create an addon.

    Another good idea would be do write a feature request.

    I think this would be a good change of how thinks work too as it makes it more clear to the user/agents when adding listings to more than one class.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •