Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Search by area

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Search by area

    Hi everybody
    I'm new here and I'm new on Open-Realty.
    My problem is:
    From Listings I see dropdawn to select area and to search properties. There every area displays total number. Per sample Area 'Recoleta' displays 94 properties but... if I search by Area selecting 'Recoleta'... I get 16 properties.
    Somebody can help me please ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Search by area

    Nobody ?

    I will try to explain better:
    From my admin panel I edit search template to set search options..
    I'm here:
    http://www.mysite.com/realty/admin/i...emplate_search
    So...
    Search Label: area
    Search Type ---> here my problem
    If I select Distinct Search (OR Search Logic) the number on dropdown for every listing is OK but when I clikcking on any listing number displayed is wrong.
    Per sample on dropdown I see area 'Recoleta' with 94 listings
    Recoleta (94)
    but if I select 'Recoleta' and clicking on Submit Query... so I see
    '16 listings meet your search criteria'
    I see 16 instead 94 :(

    Now, somebody understand me ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    50
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Search by area

    What version of OR are you using?

    Can you provide a link to the site as it will make it easier for people to try and help you?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Search by area

    OR version 2.5.5

    Search form is using "Distinct list allow multiple (OR Search logic)".

    When the client is on the search page, ie. http://www.site.com/index.php?action=searchpage

    The area field is populated with all the areas as enetered on each listing and the amount of listings are shown after the area name in ().

    So it will look like this:
    Area: area1 (52)
    area2 (43)
    area3 (45)

    etc

    And if the client choose to display all listings in area2, instead of showing all 43 listings, only 16 are shown despite no other choices made like budget or bedrooms that could narrow down the search.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    50
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Search by area

    Quote Originally Posted by pbflash View Post
    Can you provide a link to the site as it will make it easier for people to try and help you?
    Without seeing what is happening, it will be hard for anyone to help you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Search by area

    Well it is not that difficult to understand actually.

    When you are on the searchpage you have several options as to what you want to base your search on.

    Price
    size
    bedrooms
    area
    etc

    If nothing else is selected except for 1 particular area that has some 90 listings (shown in parenthesis) only 15 will show up in the searchresult after you click search. Really all the 90 listings should show up as no other selections has been made.

    However if we use a dropdown list for the searchpage instead of "Distinct list allow multiple (OR Search logic)" then all listings will be shown if we search for that same particular area.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Search by area

    We need the link to the site with the actual problem so we can see the actual data and search parameters being passed in order to debug what is going on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Search by area

    Code:
    http://localhost/realty/index.php?price-min=&price-max=&sq_meter-min=&sq_meter-max=&area_or%5B%5D=Nana+&searchtext=&action=searchresults&pclass%5B%5D=
    Should return 90 listings in the area "nana" but only 17 comes up.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    50
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Search by area

    Again, without seeing the site it is next to impossible for anyone to help you. I would suggest putting it on a live web server and then provide a link so it can be looked at.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Search by area

    Could never imagine that no one is able to understand what the problem is..

    As said.. When using a dropdown box it's returning 90 listings but when using a multiple choice box it only returns 17 listings..

    I guess I have to turn somewhere where I can make myself understood. Maybe it's my english..

Similar Threads

  1. search result link for specific area
    By tekture in forum Templates - Help/Ideas/Discussion (CLOSED)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 08:29 PM
  2. Search "area" instead of Search Page
    By godriguez in forum General Help (CLOSED)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 07:21 PM
  3. search facility for listings in particular area
    By razmon123 in forum General Help (CLOSED)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 04:22 PM
  4. Admin Area
    By Rik in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2006, 10:13 AM
  5. admin area
    By dantanner in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2006, 08:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •