Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kajang, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia, 109921245703854, Kajang, Malaysia
    Posts
    148

    Default two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Just wondering, is it good to create two website with same database in terms of SEO. I worry if google penalize me to do this.

    Is there any features in OR software to prevent this?

    thanks
    www.hartanah2u.com/ - Real Estate Agent
    www.putraproperty.com/ - Malaysia Real Estate Free Portal
    www.rescom.my/ - My Company Website
    www.iklansini.com/ - Classified Ads using OR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    California
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,229

    Default Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Are you referring to having two separate, unique sites setup but using one database because you only have access to one database but each site will have its own unique content? - No, nothing could tell in this case that you are using a single database for two unique sites. Open-Realty has a feature built in to change the prefix of all of it's database tables so that you can setup two, or more sites using a single database.

    However, if you are referring to having two sites using the exact same data from a single database but perhaps having different layouts etc then yes, Google will not like the duplicate content and could hurt your search engine ranking due to the lack of unique content on the sites.
    Open-Realty 2 Documentation

    ~The Difference Between an ORDEAL and an ADVENTURE is ATTITUDE~

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kajang, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia, 109921245703854, Kajang, Malaysia
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    i have 2 website http://www.rescom.my and http://www.hartanah.biz using one database and displaying same listing info. both displaying same listing but the website setup and template is different.

    I'm also setup new subdomain http://www.amrul.rescom.my displaying only one agent listing. there is few more like this.

    I'm not sure, is this what you mean the google will penalize us?
    www.hartanah2u.com/ - Real Estate Agent
    www.putraproperty.com/ - Malaysia Real Estate Free Portal
    www.rescom.my/ - My Company Website
    www.iklansini.com/ - Classified Ads using OR

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Miami Beach
    Age
    37
    Posts
    89

    Default Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Quote Originally Posted by budin24 View Post
    i have 2 website http://www.rescom.my and http://www.hartanah.biz using one database and displaying same listing info. both displaying same listing but the website setup and template is different.

    I'm also setup new subdomain http://www.amrul.rescom.my displaying only one agent listing. there is few more like this.

    I'm not sure, is this what you mean the google will penalize us?
    When goolge bots read the same information on different urls, even on the same domain, it is considered duplicate content which many SEOs believe will contribute negatively to your search ratings. It is best not to take a chance and use rel="nofollow" in the listing urls for the secondary sites.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Posts
    42

    Post Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    HI i am having the same problem i would like to have 3 sites withe the same share of the database but in a way they have diferent listings in order to google not to rank them low, my question is how to do it? Was it possible to share the same database and only show the chosen property classes for each one of them diferent? In that way google couldnt get same content beacause it will show diferent classes for instance.
    site A show apartments and villas only
    site B show condos and land
    site c show only comercial properties
    althoug all of them share the same database and layout, and we could try to link them all together, for instance in site A will have a link to site B and C and other sites too but in site A you will only get apartments and villas. So when google indexes it it will not conflict with the content. I dont know if i am right, because i am newbie at OR but this was my main idea, that i am trying to figure it out a way to do this and until now with no sucess.
    Maybe you can give me a hand on how to do it.
    Nuno Cravo
    Best regards.
    http://www.habifortaleza.com
    http://em-fortaleza.com
    http://habi-fortaleza.com.br
    i have all the three as mirror sites but google only indexes the main site www.habifortaleza.com but i would like it indexes the other the way i told you by property classes in order to not conflict with each other and go up in the serps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Miami Beach
    Age
    37
    Posts
    89

    Default Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Quote Originally Posted by habifortaleza View Post
    Was it possible to share the same database and only show the chosen property classes for each one of them diferent? In that way google couldnt get same content beacause it will show diferent classes for instance.
    site A show apartments and villas only
    site B show condos and land
    site c show only comercial properties
    Listings sharing the same database with different classes exclusive to each site would not be penalized in the SERPS.

    Here is an interesting thought. Listings are basically the same (in content and format) from listing to listing with minor changes in details so they are not likely to be much positive value beyond the first few. Similarly it's doubtful that duplicate listings have a negative effect. I am not an SEO expert but observations of sites with the same IDX where only the format of the listings is slightly changed does not appear to effect their SERPS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Posts
    42

    Post Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Hi Adam, this was always my thougt but i do not now how to do it, the main idea is having same database but only displaying diferent listings managed by property classes, i guess the main dificulty is having a dummy MAIN page to put in the second or thirth or fourth site in order to have diferent fields to set up as the name of site2 and the tags and meta tags, but all of them with the same layout, as if were same company, but all the 3 linked each other so that the client went and navigate the 3 without having any dificulty, the only thing it will change is the url of the website, and property listings and sharing in harmony the same database, when uploading a listing the listing will only be active in the displayed chosen site by the respctive property class.
    Other interesting thing if you allow me to talk to you, is having a contact form in order to the client write down what kind of property wants or is interested with data like cell phone, home phone, email adress, and can choose the property classes of his choice and then take that info and put it in a database and when a new real estate of the search class chosen by the client, or price (with a diference to about 25% plus or less, because it can be financed, and it opens the offer to show to the client). And everytime, or weekly, when it is uploaded a real estate that suites the client interest, he/she will automatically receive an email with a link to that property or properties. I guess this should be displayed in the main index page too.
    Kind regards, hope giving some interesting ideas i am not a programmer but i am fulled with new things in my mind.
    Nuno Cravo
    http://www.habifortaleza.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Age
    98
    Posts
    207

    Default Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Why not have extra fields?
    ie first site shows short dec full des as main text, second site pulls out sec_short and other_desc as main text fields?
    Set one to show title, second to show title as
    'class' in 'city' in 'state'
    or whatever,
    Then you have different content showing on the different urls
    Best,
    Rob
    PS if you are thinking about Google rankings, what about using my new addon to produce sef searrchresults, see http://www.betterlets.com (sandbox site, error messages are caused by missing listing images) and try the search function.
    Last edited by robsouthern; 10-26-2009 at 04:47 AM. Reason: Thouight!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Posts
    42

    Smile Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Hi Robsouthern, i did not figure it out everithing you say, i guess you tell me that i had to have 3 diferent sites in the same server, is that it and share their database and configure SEO independantly,for each one of them, is that it? Having 3 diferent fresh instalations of open realty, sharing the same database, and fully customized by the SEO and titles (diferently in order to not afect the rankings) but sharing the same database is that it? And how can i add the listings wihout conflicting with site A or B? Because of the Id number of the listings? or when i add a listing, how can this be all together integrated?
    Please send me link to your addon. I loved the sef links you could do in your site http://www.betterlets.com/listing-le...-cour-393.html, can you please tell me the secret to do it or where can i get the addon? is it free?
    Thanks in advance
    Nuno Cravo
    http://www.habifortaleza.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Age
    98
    Posts
    207

    Default Re: two OR website, same database: Seo Effect

    Hi there,
    The addon is not free I have spent too much time on it
    I would have to modify it a bit for your site, you use 13 search criteria + class and I have not looked enough to see if you have even more which are specific to any one class
    I can do that and will mail you when it is done.

    Re the sites, no
    1.You can have them all on one server, or if you are allowed to set up outside hosts with mysql access you can have them on seperate servers.
    2. Yes <<Having 3 diferent fresh instalations of open realty, sharing the same database, and fully customized by the SEO and titles (diferently in order to not afect the rankings) but sharing the same database is that it? >> But they do not have to be that different just the main text areasI mean the titles on the page not in the head section, they can be the same if the domain names by which the search engines reach your site are all different. Ditto for keywords and meta description.
    3. Not difficult<<how can this be all together integrated?>>Whether the sites are on the same server, or seperate servers they all draw from the same db hence you only use one master site to add listings and they automatically appear on all of them.
    The trick is to write out individual common.phps, file and vtour calls to the master installation. Cant remember if you also
    Hence the common.php for the copy sites would have lines similar to the following


    // this is the setup for the ADODB library
    include_once("/home/path/to/site/include/class/adodb/adodb.inc.php");
    include_once("/home/path/to/site/include/misc.inc.php");
    $misc = new misc();
    $conn = &ADONewConnection($db_type);
    $conn->PConnect($db_server, $db_user, $db_password, $db_database);
    //$sql = "SELECT * FROM ".$config["table_prefix_no_lang"]."controlpanel";
    //$recordSet = $conn->Execute($sql);
    //if (!$recordSet)
    //{
    // header("Location: http://www.newsite.com/500.shtml");die;
    //}
    // Loop throught Control Panel and save to Array
    $config["version"] = "2.5.7";
    $config["basepath"] = "/home/path/to/site";
    $config["baseurl"] = "http://www.newsite.com";
    and

    $config["seo_default_keywords"] = "whatever whatever ";
    $config["seo_default_description"] = "Mt New Site - Real Estate";
    $config["seo_listing_keywords"] = "{listing_field_whatever_value}, {listing_type_value},{listing_field_city_value}, {listing_field_dept_value}, whatever ,whatever";
    $config["seo_listing_description"] = "{listing_field_type_value}, {listing_field_city_value}, {listing_field_333_value},whatever -{listing_field_full_desc_value}";
    $config["seo_default_title"] = "New Site, best in world and not like other site";
    $config["seo_listing_title"] = "Frankrike, eiendomsmegling, {listing_field_type_value}, {listing_field_city_value} {listing_field_dept_value} Frankrike - Eiendomsmegling";
    $config["seo_url_seperator"] = "-";
    if (isset($_SESSION["template"]))

    and then

    // MISCELLENEOUS SETTINGS
    // you shouldn"t have to mess with these things unless you rename a folder, etc...
    $config["file_icons_path"] ="http://www.mastersite.com/files";
    $config["listings_view_file_icons_path"] = "http://www.mastersite.com/eiendomsmegling/files";
    $config["listings_file_upload_path"] = "http://www.mastersite.com/files/listings";
    $config["listings_view_file_path"] = "http://www.mastersite.com/files/listings";
    $config["users_file_upload_path"] = "/path/to/mastersite/files/users";
    $config["users_view_file_path"] = "http://www.mastersite.com/files/users";
    $config["listings_upload_path"] = "/path/to/mastersite/images/listing_photos";
    $config["listings_view_images_path"] = "http://www.mastersite.com/listing_photos";
    $config["user_upload_path"] = "/path/to/mastersite/images/user_photos";
    $config["user_view_images_path"] = "http://www.mastersite.com/images/user_photos";
    $config["vtour_upload_path"] = "/path/to/mastersite/images/vtour_photos";
    $config["vtour_view_images_path"] ="http://www.mastersite.com/images/vtour_photos";


    (the upload paths are not important, but it looks neater )

    If you use seperate servers change as above, leaving out the upload paths and also $mysql server from localhost to whatever it is on your mastersite.

    Mail me if you want some paid help, cos am v. busy at the moment and only money can turn my head
    Not usual for me, but....

    Best,
    Rob
    Last edited by robsouthern; 10-26-2009 at 10:28 AM. Reason: left in a line that is not relevant

Similar Threads

  1. The new VOW rules taking effect 2/16/09
    By ewood in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-28-2009, 12:58 AM
  2. Database enable on existing website
    By Ulfrikr in forum Templates - Help/Ideas/Discussion (CLOSED)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-2007, 10:54 AM
  3. multiple OR website with one database?
    By axiale05 in forum General Help (CLOSED)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 08:21 AM
  4. Multiple Website structure, 1 database
    By rcaubin in forum General Help (CLOSED)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 02:08 PM
  5. Database on a different server than the website [SOLVED]
    By HansMeiser in forum HELP (CLOSED)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2004, 05:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •