Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Url rewriting

  1. #41
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Is the URL suppposed to change from www.mywebsite.com/123

    to VISIBLY SHOW IN THE ADDRESS BAR:

    mywebsite.com/listingview.php...123


    My URL just shows mywebsite/123.

    How do I make it change so that the long URL is showing?

    The reason I want the long URL to show is because other things in the website don't work unless the long URL is showing.
    Last edited by RealEstate; 01-24-2005 at 03:31 PM.
    RealEstate

  2. #42
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    840

    Default

    HAHAHAHAHA I love talking and teaching to myself. Yeah, I know you've been there too.

    If you put [R] at the end of your
    listingview.php?listingID=$1 [R]

    It will show the LONG URL.

    If you remove the [R] it will show the little URL i.e. mywebsite.com/123

    Boy, I sure hope my particular problems will help someone in the future.
    Last edited by RealEstate; 01-24-2005 at 04:04 PM.
    RealEstate

  3. #43
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    840

    Default

    BTW, I got lots of good info from the forum provided by Pbflash

    and this one page tutorial is interesting http://www.yourhtmlsource.com/sitema...rewriting.html

    The guy seems nice and has an email in case you have questions.
    RealEstate

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Age
    98
    Posts
    207

    Default preg_replace

    Hi,
    Has anyone here mastered preg_replace , it seems this combined with htaccess is the function we need to rewrite really friendly urls?
    I've looked at it and lost.... :(

  5. #45
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    840

    Default

    I don't know what preg is and have little programming skills.

    What exactly are you trying to do? Maybe I've seen something like
    what you're looking for.
    RealEstate

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Age
    98
    Posts
    207

    Default

    Thanks,
    I want to have the urls appear as the listing title, _ replacing spaces etc so the url appears as http://www.or.com/353_languedoc_ruin.html or even with a virtual directory before it the name of which comes from the region/state field, ie http://www.or.com/languedoc/353_languedoc_ruin.html.
    Here's a forum i found that talks of preg_replace and where i asked about this, got a good answer which totally lost me on the coding side http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum92/3311.htm

    Best regards,
    Rob

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    14

    Default Same Topic Different Question

    I'm trying to mod the menu system. Basically I have 3 different views of a house I) Quick II)In Depth III)TOUR

    I have the menu still as user_menu.php but i would like it to have access to the listing id so that at any time a user can click on HOME or whatever i choose and it will bring back the basic view of their listing that they chose. I've tried a couple of different php / html url encodes but i'm banging my head here up against a brick wall. Mostly because USER_TOP.PHP just doesnt see the listingID value.

    TIA

    Any help figuring this out would be appreciated.

    Michael

    (work in progress)
    http://section.gotdns.com:81/realty/index.php

  8. #48
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Rob,

    Check this thread out http://support.open-realty.org/showthread.php?t=3726

    http://broadwaykeys.com/listingview-527135.html
    the 527135 is the MLS #. Im sure it can be modified so that instead of the
    number, the Title is shown.
    RealEstate

  9. #49
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Michael,

    Generally, OR has a printer friendly page that is accessible from the Listingivew.php

    When they are in the printer friendly page, there's a link to return to normal view.

    I think you can follow the same idea for your requirements.

    Perhaps creating 3 listingview versions that are accessible from whicever version the visitor is seeing.
    listingview_quick
    listingview_depth etc

    http://www.thetierneyteam.com/listin...p?listingID=13

    http://www.thetierneyteam.com/listin...r_friendly=yes
    RealEstate

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    14

    Exclamation Stuff

    Thanks for the advice. I've actually ended up just modding up a few of the functions and features that were already available to me from OR already.
    If you'd like to take a look at what i've got so far

    http://solvent.gotdns.com:81/realty/index.php

    and follow the browse listings link.
    Its not much yet. I'm still working on a way to get info out into my google maps function and have some nicening up to do.

    Any feedback or input on this so far would be appreciated.


    Michael

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •