Thread: Midwest Florida MLS Planet Realtor and the photo problem

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Midwest Florida MLS Planet Realtor and the photo problem

Ok here is the skinny... I am a developer who needs a custom solution for a realtor site accessing the MFR MLS (midwest Florida). I want to use OR and transparent's IDX solution and host it with them.

But they(transparent) say there is a problem with the pictures, their software can not retrieve them. Import, yes, retrieve no. They do not know how to retrieve them... which I find is odd because they write the software... but hey maybe they just dont want to be bothered with offering hosting for Florida clients....

Does anyone know what I need to do to be able to use OR with the midwest florida regional MLS???? either with Transparent IDX product or not? I want to use OR and I dont mind supporting Transparent but I need something that will work.

Any ideas???

MOVED - to Work forum.

the_sandking is offline hadron remnant - Moderation Fachmann

Default Re: Midwest Florida MLS Planet Realtor and the photo problem

Most good IDX vendors provide photo archives, for example .ZIP file collections of photos. PlanetRealtor stopped providing .ZIP photo files almost a year ago.

The problem with PlanetRealtor's photos is they use a remote HTTP media server and don't provide photos in a way they can easily and efficiently be downloaded in quantity. Any solution that downloads photos from a HTTP media server has to do it one at a time no differently really than someone using a photo link in a web browser. This can be very time consuming, and a not very fault-tolerant method of obtaining photos, and MFR is a huge regional MLS to boot. It's not likely that Transparent does not know how to do it, they just don't want to be responsible for supporting and maintaining something that is not going to work efficiently or reliably.