Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Links broken on Move Installation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Links broken on Move Installation

    Hi everyone. First off I want to say what a neat product you have. This is my first time using this product and I am impressed with what has been done.

    Now with that said I have a problem. My neighbors webmaster passed away and they are shutting her server down tonight and I was just engaged yesterday to help her move her website to a new server before that happened. Nothing like a time crunch.... The site is currently version 2.5.2. I have followed (at least I think I have) the instructions posted on the web on on how to move the site, rerun the install folder to reset paths but am having some issues.

    The first issue appears like the template is not being utilized correctly. My images are not showing up.
    The second issue appears (and likely the reason I'm having the first) that the links to pages inside the site are incorrect paths as compared to what I have setup.

    The site that is currently up and running is http://historicaldesigns.com/

    The new location right now is http://www.companyinthebox.com/test/plan/

    A link on the page shows: http://www.companyinthebox.com/plan/...=searchresults

    I have modified the link to add back the test path and it brings up the page (no pictures). My question is what is going on with that link? Any and all help is appreciated.

    MOVED - Please do not post OR v2 support questions in the OR v3 area, otherwise your posts may be deleted in the future.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    I looks like your OR "baseurl" is http://www.companyinthebox.com but you put your "plan folder in http://www.companyinthebox.com/test/.


    Marcello

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    Thanks Marcello for the reply.

    I had similar thoughts as you did but dont' know where this link activity is occurring. Here is some more information from the admin panel which works fabulous (bottom). It's so odd as it breaks on images and on search but on other db queries the page will work (still without pictures..). Any specific ideas on what I should do or look at besides this?


    Base URL: http://companyinthebox.com/test/plan Your site's web address. To change your base url you need to rerun the install and select the "Update basepath/baseurl only" option.
    Base Path: /home/content/r/o/b/robertlewisnet/html/companyinthebox/test/plan The actual location of open-realty on the machine. -- To change your base path you need to rerun the install and select the "Update basepath/baseurl only" option.

  4. #4
    the_sandking's Avatar
    the_sandking is offline hadron remnant - Moderation Fachmann
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nullspace
    Posts
    5,289

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    You need to re-run the OR installer from the correct URL and select the upgrade basepath/url option.. Also, make sure any links in your template are not hard-coded to use the wrong domain & etc.
    "Much of what looks like rudeness in hacker circles is not intended to give offense. Rather, it's the product of the direct, cut-through-the-BS communications style that is natural to people who are more concerned about solving problems than making others feel warm and fuzzy."

    "We gotta' go to the crappy town where I'm a hero!"
    -Hoban 'Wash' Washburne 2485-2519


    "When you’re born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you’re born in America, you get a front-row seat.."
    -George Carlin 1937-2008

    New to Open-Realty® and need help? Check the:
    -OR DOCUMENTATION -

    Important: Read this at least once in your lifetime
    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    I'm turnign into one of those useless trollers and I apologize. I tried what you said. I unzipped everything into a new folder and it did not change things. I changed to default templates and that helped with how it looked but did not change the behavior of the link that change. What I am seeing is that the base url is being changed for different types of links in the main menu. It consistently removes the file folder before the plan folder. Perhaps it is making a call to the server www root instead of the OR base. After seeing how this webmaster laid things out I would not be totally surprised. The problem is I'm not good enough on PHP to quickly go and find this and I have other time constraints.

    I'm trying my best to get this up and running today. I'm willing to pay if we can't get by this shortly with an ah ha moment. I have ftp to the folder ready...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    I just went to:
    http://www.companyinthebox.com/test/plan/admin/
    And got this error message:
    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class misc in /home/content/r/o/b/robertlewisnet/html/historicaldesigns/plan/include/misc.inc.php on line 27

    99% sure the error is at an add-on. If you have any add-on installed, make a backup of all of them and then, remove all add-ons. I bet the problem will be solved.
    [EDITED] After that, reinstall one by one and you will find from where the error comes from. Then you will need to fix the error at that specific add-on[/EDITED]

    Eduardo
    Last edited by ebmarques; 03-31-2011 at 02:04 PM. Reason: complemeted

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    In trying to start over I actually moved the site over to another folder...http://www.robertlewis.net/historicaldesigns/ you can see the link issues there.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by companyinthebox View Post
    In trying to start over I actually moved the site over to another folder...http://www.robertlewis.net/historicaldesigns/ you can see the link issues there.
    No... you did not. You moved to: http ://w w w.robertlewis.net/historicaldesigns/plan/

    Take a look also at yours HTML template files. Seems you need to fix the paths at those files. For example, at:
    http://www.robertlewis.net/historica...ical/main.html

    Eduardo

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    Eduardo.

    You are pretty darn cool. You drove it home to me. Thank you for your response. I'm not used to this type of cms whereas the links are maintained in a Html file and the paths are hard coded and not relative to the installation.

    Thank you so much. It works now. At least the parts that were working when I got started!!! that's for another day!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: Links broken on Move Installation

    Good to know you got it.

    Quote Originally Posted by companyinthebox View Post
    ...I'm not used to this type of cms whereas the links are maintained in a Html file and the paths are hard coded and not relative to the installation...
    No... Take a look at the source code of your main.html template file. For example, you have:
    Code:
    <link href="/historicaldesigns/plan/template/hd-vertical/css/template_css.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    That should be:
    Code:
    <link href="{template_url}/css/template_css.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    That means: the paths are relative to the installation!!! But users are not!
    No matter how much times we say them to read O-R DOCs!

    Eduardo

    Open-Realty® DOCs
    We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. (Author Unknown)

Similar Threads

  1. Broken Links
    By miles in forum Language help, ideas, discussion & Releases (CLOSED)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 09:50 PM
  2. Broken Links In Listing
    By birdhope in forum Installation/Configuration Help (CLOSED)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 01:20 AM
  3. Broken links from index.php - help
    By virtuallin in forum Installation/Configuration Help (CLOSED)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2005, 08:25 PM
  4. broken links in database and sql problems!
    By azantis in forum HELP (CLOSED)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 04:58 PM
  5. Your demo is broken - does the software come broken?
    By Anonymous in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2004, 05:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •