Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help Featured Listings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8

    Default Help Featured Listings

    First of all - we just started to use this product.

    We have one bug -

    Some listings (activ and featured ) do NOT show up on the homepage which is featured listings.

    Anyone can help?

    Thx JK

  2. #2
    the_sandking's Avatar
    the_sandking is offline hadron remnant - Moderation Fachmann
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nullspace
    Posts
    5,289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JKFLORIDASKY
    First of all - we just started to use this product.

    We have one bug -

    Some listings (activ and featured ) do NOT show up on the homepage which is featured listings.

    Anyone can help?

    Thx JK
    Not a bug.. Please post help questions in the appropriate forum. Also, read the FAQ before posting so that you will know what we need to help you..
    "Much of what looks like rudeness in hacker circles is not intended to give offense. Rather, it's the product of the direct, cut-through-the-BS communications style that is natural to people who are more concerned about solving problems than making others feel warm and fuzzy."

    "We gotta' go to the crappy town where I'm a hero!"
    -Hoban 'Wash' Washburne 2485-2519


    "When you’re born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you’re born in America, you get a front-row seat.."
    -George Carlin 1937-2008

    New to Open-Realty® and need help? Check the:
    -OR DOCUMENTATION -

    Important: Read this at least once in your lifetime
    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8

    Default Very helpful

    Since I thought its a bug...I posted here....
    And why aren't you so kind abd give me the link in FAQ.

    Is every Moderator so rude ??


    JK

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    9,796

    Default

    The FAQ's are right on the main page for Open Realty. My guess is that the renderFeaturedListings function is not set to order them randomly so you are only getting the first X number of listings the querry brings in. You would need to check the function in the style.php file.

  5. #5
    the_sandking's Avatar
    the_sandking is offline hadron remnant - Moderation Fachmann
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nullspace
    Posts
    5,289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JKFLORIDASKY
    Is every Moderator so rude ??

    JK
    You will find that I am pretty tame, compared to a lot of other Moderators, not necessarily OR moderators. Most people who donate time here answering questions do so expecting others to at least do a search in the forums, and to have read the FAQ.

    Please respect our time by attempting to help yourself before calling something a "bug!", and always provide at the very least a link to what you are having problems with.
    "Much of what looks like rudeness in hacker circles is not intended to give offense. Rather, it's the product of the direct, cut-through-the-BS communications style that is natural to people who are more concerned about solving problems than making others feel warm and fuzzy."

    "We gotta' go to the crappy town where I'm a hero!"
    -Hoban 'Wash' Washburne 2485-2519


    "When you’re born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you’re born in America, you get a front-row seat.."
    -George Carlin 1937-2008

    New to Open-Realty® and need help? Check the:
    -OR DOCUMENTATION -

    Important: Read this at least once in your lifetime
    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8

    Default style.php

    pb - thx for helping out...of course I have no clue what to do in style.php
    Some people using this tool don't know php ...but I will play wiht it.

    Sand - welll seems you have time to write how tought your life is...in the sam e time you could do your good thing for the day and have answered me. I feel better helping people but I guess you not.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8

    Cool conti....

    Display featured listings in Random Order or by Rank.

    So I found this:
    Add to Common.php

    $config['featured_listings_random'] = 'yes'
    $config['featued_listings_photo_random'] = 'no'


    in Style.php heres what needs to be done to make it random and use the config arrary to set which method to view featured listings are used.-->

    (featured listing sql statement example)
    $sql = "SELECT ID, Title FROM " . $config[table_prefix] . "listingsDB WHERE (featured = 'yes') ORDER BY RAND()";


    if statement needs to be added to produce either or results to sql statement.


    Sure Enough I made the changes...however only 3 featured listings show up...more 4th one will not appear....

    Anyone cares?


    BTW: If this not a bug...excuse me when I have to change php scripts to get it working right (showing all (4!) listings I want to be featured,,,,,,)
    Last edited by JKFLORIDASKY; 08-30-2004 at 12:55 PM. Reason: forgot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    België
    Posts
    92

    Default

    this is indeed not a bug,
    In the index.php there is some line
    <?php renderFeaturedListingsVertical(4); ?>

    there you need to change the 4 into something else. A bigger number in your case.
    I hope you understand that the bugs-section is more critical than the help, so if you're not sure post it into help.
    succes

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    8

    Default Thx JANC

    At least somebody has mercy on me....that worked . Thanks a bunch!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Stil wondering....Sand prob didn't know.....thats why the attidude problem.


    And yes next time I write in HELP ...gee...You guys need to loosen up...


    Thx again Janc

    JK

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    9,796

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JKFLORIDASKY
    Stil wondering....Sand prob didn't know.....thats why the attidude problem.
    JK
    I doubt that very much. He is just doing his job as a Moderator.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •