+ Reply to Thread

Thread: RETS and PHP and Open-Realty

I have been reading and reading on these subjects. This is all new to me. RETS says they are the standard for the National Association of Realtors. I am not technical enough to understand all this XML and DTD talk. I was really hoping to be able to use php to some how connect to a MLS database as well as to work in the beautiful thing that Open-Realty has become. At this point I am not even able to ask a good question. I only know that I like Open-Realty a lot and that I also need to connect to a MLS database. Could someone be so kind as to point me in the right direction? How do I learn? Thank you. -AnnieO

First we will need to know what database your mls is using. Is it MLXchange, or Realtor.com? Actually it's probalby not Realtor.com

Would be nice to get that connection wouldn't it.

Anyway, here's what you can do, export all the files that you want, ie: active listings, pending listings, etc.

Make sure you export them so that it is eithr cvs, or tab delimited.

Then you can import it in to mysql using phpmanager, or some other php program.

I'm working on an odbc driver that will help with this, but haven't had the time to dig into it.

JP

Smile MLS DATABASE, MySQL & PHPmyAdmin INterface

It took 5 months for me to figure out how to make an MLS database.
    You gotta get one of your realtor's to share their username and password
    to access the FTP space where the countywide property listings are stored.
    In my case, the files on their FTP space were all gzip and tar files. Gzip for the text. Tar for the pics. I used many, many programs to create a file compatible with MySQL and the PHPmyAdmin interface on my server.

After lots of trial and error, I reduced the job down to about 10-15 steps,