Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Search by state

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default Search by state

    Hello everybody,

    I am a new to openrealty and i am building a website for sales and rentals.

    I have am having problems in 2 area

    1) I want to place a search by state in index page - basically this will be a pull down which will get populated with name of states that are there in the db

    2) I want to know how can i create link/url for a agent to put that in his site for display of his listing only.

    Any assistance is highly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

    CID

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Search by state

    1. Create a from with action=index.php?action=searchresults and add a select box to the form named state.

    2. The link would be something like http://www.yoursite.com/index.php?ac...ults&used_ID=X where X is that agents user ID.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Search by state

    Thanks pbflash for the response, how can populate the drop down for state with all the state name from the database, is there any simple way to do that ??

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Search by state

    I would also like to do this but I am totally confused. Where would I start at?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Search by state

    If you want to pull the stated from the db to populate the search box then you'll need to create an addon to setup the search form and then can add the tag you define in the addon to your template.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Search by state

    Quote Originally Posted by pbflash
    If you want to pull the stated from the db to populate the search box then you'll need to create an addon to setup the search form and then can add the tag you define in the addon to your template.
    Do you know of any that are already out there, I am completely confused. I am use to working with php but this is different.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    9,796

    Default Re: Search by state

    There was a quick search addon for version 2.08 (see addon release section). It may work with 2.1.X or should only need minor changes so it does.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Search by state

    Thank you, I'll try that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •